Originally Posted By: SaintAccardo
Anybody thinking of suppressing anything over a .380 and not attracting attention is just dreaming. Have you ever heard a silenced 9mm or .45? There's almost no point in suppressing them at all.

i'm no firearms expert, but when someone posts crap like this i can't take them seriously any longer and a few minutes on youtube would prove that. the caliber has little to do with the noise as long as the bullet is going less than 1135 fps. there would be little noticeable difference in the sound between the calibers you listed, with the only substancial exception being the action of the weapon itself, as the larger and heavier slides of the larger caliber handguns are naturally going to be a bit louder.

And to suppress any revolver is just stupid also and has nothing to do with getting a threaded barrel. It's very easy to tap out the end of a barrel precisely to recieve whatever thread diameter your silencer is. I've made quite a few silencers throughout the years and have put them to many different calibers and this is what I've found to be true.

first of all, you can't suppress a revolver as i stated before due to the gasses escaping from the cylinder gap. don't believe me, then i invite you to put your hand over the gap and fire, let me know how that ends up! lol the only exception to the rule is the nagant m1895 revolver due to the unique cartridge and action of the revolver which pushes it forward before firing to close the cylinder gap. this was done to give the round extra velocity during a time when pistol ammunition was extremely underpowered, but seeing how that platform is extremely uncommon, it's a mute point.