Found this little gem among my things with no attribution. I'm usually not that loose, but this time...I dunno.
By chance, any of y'all remember where, when it first saw light?
My sincere regret for the lapse and regards to the author for a nifty piece of work. clap

Sure, I grew up in a section of Brooklyn where you became a cop, fireman, sanitation worker or a wise guy. I was more afraid of my father then I was of the wise guys so I was able to walk the straight and narrow and became a cop. I used to drink in a bar called the Gemini Lounge, a crew of wise guys used to cut up bodies in the back. Of course we didn’t know that at the time. Google Roy Demeo, the Gemini Twins or Gemini Lounge
Professionally, when I was a young cop, I worked South Brooklyn. The area I worked was full of numbers spots, social clubs and funeral parlors that had no funerals. Over the years of interaction with these types there becomes a mutual understanding. It’s almost necessary in order to do the job. Don’t f&^K with the Police and I won’t sit in front of your numbers spot. In became a game, they at times had to save face in the streets and you had to do the same or you couldn’t do the job. In those days, you had a knock down drag out fight with them or you arrested them. We wouldn’t do both. It was the unwritten law of the street. I’m not saying it was right but it is what it was.