See, having read those comments on the dead--particularly the bit on their jamming, I think you and I view them in two completely different ways on the basis that I am an active musician (making the art of jamming a bit more personally relevant) and to my knowledge, you are not. If you are, then... Well that sort of dislodges anything I have to say of this matter.

But to me, when two, or three, or four, of ten or whatever musicians can get together, do something that is mostly improvisational, and make it work for both an audience, and more importantly, themselves, something beautiful has happened. Actually, as much as I love a lot of the bands mentioned here, the one complaint I have to offer of many is that none of them ever really engaged in much improvisational work in their live routines. Which is a shame, it really adds dynamic and energy to the performance, and separates it from the studio recordings we can listen to again and again.