Home

New York then and now - is it safer these days?

Posted By: night_timer

New York then and now - is it safer these days? - 04/04/14 01:32 AM

I'm not from New York and I have never been there, so I want to ask a question of you New Yorkers...

I've heard NYC is a lot safer now (post-911), but was the safety the result of boosts in police and security around town after 911, or because of the decline of mob activities in NYC?

I'm no expert, but I think the Gambino family became so big that they were victims of their own success. They had so many crews and so many rackets. They were gonna get busted sooner or later, either by rats or good police work.
Posted By: Flushing

Re: New York then and now - is it safer these days? - 04/04/14 02:15 AM

It's beyond safe. Crime is lower than its ever been in NYC.

Must be all those NYPD portable surveillance towers.

Re: New York then and now - is it safer these days? - 04/04/14 02:18 AM

... but I heard the cops just pushed the crime out of Manhattan into the outer burroughs - is this right?

Re: New York then and now - is it safer these days? - 04/04/14 11:03 AM

In 1993, when I graduated High School, there were almost 2,500 murders per year.

The murder rate is now lower than 5oo per year. I didn't look up actual stats but I think that is pretty close. I heard Ray Kelly and Bloomy repeat these figures at every press conference.

Bill Bratton and Rudy Guiliani sort of engineered the crime reduction, starting in 1994.
Posted By: Dellacroce

Re: New York then and now - is it safer these days? - 04/04/14 12:23 PM

You can walk around the parks pretty safely today.

Re: New York then and now - is it safer these days? - 04/04/14 02:22 PM

Yay - thanks, guys - I'd love to visit one day!
Posted By: pizzaboy

Re: New York then and now - is it safer these days? - 04/04/14 03:06 PM

Originally Posted By: Flushing
In 1993, when I graduated High School, there were almost 2,500 murders per year.