Home

How did real life mafia judge the GF?

Posted By: Lavinia from Italy

How did real life mafia judge the GF? - 10/18/05 10:26 AM

I'm not sure if I should post this here or in the Organized crime real life forum...anyway this is a topic I'm hugely curious about and I'm sure that if real mafia somehow let it know how they did perceive the movie and the impact it had on the audience, the GF gurus in the BBs know it. smile
Posted By: Enzo Scifo

Re: How did real life mafia judge the GF? - 10/18/05 06:13 PM

I'm far from an expert, but I believe that there were maffiosi who tought the film was very 'cool'. They wanted to be like Vito, Santino, ... And acted like them.

Somewhere in the seventies, a powerful maffiaboss had a trial in Sicily. He had seen The GF, and when he was in the courtroom he acted totally like Vito Corleone. He pulled his lip up, he mumbeld, and did all kinds of slow Vito-handgestures...
Posted By: svsg

Re: How did real life mafia judge the GF? - 10/18/05 06:18 PM

I read somewhere that a lot of mafia people were around in the sets (those shot around the streets) when the film was being made. I am not talking about the big guys here, they were the street level operators. They were happy that a film glorifying them was being made and many of them went to watch the movie. But they realized that once the shooting was done, all their celebrity status was lost. I don't remember where I read this, it was actually an old review. Written around the time when the movie was released. I vaguely remember that someone on this boards posted a link to that. Not sure...
Posted By: juventus

Re: How did real life mafia judge the GF? - 10/18/05 06:21 PM

Originally posted by Enzo Scifo:
I'm far from an expert, but I believe that there were maffiosi who tought the film was very 'cool'. They wanted to be like Vito, Santino, ... And acted like them.